The Kitimat Museum & Archives is a non-profit organization with a mission, mandate, and statement of purpose in service to the community of Kitimat.  The KMA operates the Kitimat community archives with accepted standards of archival policy and procedure.

The KMA is governed by a constitution and bylaws that provide for a Board of nine directors elected by the membership.  There are two non-voting appointments to the Board of Directors - one representative each to be appointed by the Municipal Council of the District of Kitimat and the Kitamaat Village Council.  Our current Board is as follows:

Board Chair Judith Halland (right) and staff, Museum's 40th Anniversary, 2009Cyndi McIntosh, Chair
Carole Dale, Treasurer
Gaetan Pozsgay, Vice-Chair
Robin Rowland
Allan Colton
Doug Thomson
Debbie Oliveira

Larry Walker is the District of Kitimat Council representative.  Note, the appointment by the Kitamaat Village Council is currently vacant.

Elections and appointments to the Board are annual, with a four-year limit of tenure.  Directors select the Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, and Treasurer annually at the first meeting of the Board of Directors following the Annual General Meeting in May.

The Board is concerned with policy and planning, and delegates to the Museum Curator the professional administration of the Museum within the limits of approved policies and plans.

Contact Us